Connect with us


Brick Bids Farewell to Moore, Lydecker At Final 2015 Council Meeting

Mayor John Ducey and Councilwoman Susan Lydecker (Photo: Daniel Nee)

Mayor John Ducey and Councilwoman Susan Lydecker (Photo: Daniel Nee)

At their final meeting as members of the Brick Township council, Bob Moore and Susan Lydecker won high praise from their colleagues, all agreeing the pair left the township better than they found it when first elected.

“He’s always given back to the town … that’s what volunteers do because they love the town and want to keep it safe, and Bob epitomizes that,” said Mayor John Ducey.

Of Lydecker, Ducey said: “She was always the hardest working councilwoman, the hardest working council president I’ve ever seen. She really brought heart to the council – she cares about the environment and fought tirelessly to get Brick certified by Sustainable New Jersey.”

Get Brick News Updates Daily
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

Moore and Lydecker were both elected in 2011 and began serving in 2012. Lydecker dropped out of the council race earlier this year; Moore ran unsuccessfully as an independent candidate for council after his relationship with the Democratic party soured.

“I’d like to thank the people of Bricktown for making me your councilman,” Moore said after the meeting. “It’s been a great ride. It was my first year in politics, and it’s just amazing how things get done.”

Moore called Ducey’s mayoral administration “top notch.”

Mayor John Ducey and Councilman Bob Moore (Photo: Daniel Nee)

Mayor John Ducey and Councilman Bob Moore (Photo: Daniel Nee)

“It’s been a pleasure working with this council,” said Lydecker, who saved the bulk of her praise for the township’s employees.

“They are the people who educated me,” she said. “They made me more capable of doing the job of sitting in this seat. It does take time away from your family, but it is very rewarding, to say the least.”

Both Moore and Lydecker served as council president during their terms on the governing body.

Their two seats will be filled by incoming council members Arthur Halloran and Lisa Crate, both Democrats, who were elected in November. All seven council seats will be occupied by Democrats.

Halloran and Crate, along with incumbent council members Jim Fozman and Andrea Zapcic, will be sworn into new, full terms at the Jan. 1 council meeting, scheduled for 12 noon at the township municipal complex.