Connect with us


GOP Incumbents Cruise to Victory in Ocean County Races

Ocean County’s incumbent commissioners and sheriff sailed to easy victories Tuesday night, marking another election in which the county solidified itself as New Jersey’s most commanding Republican stronghold.

Commissioners Virginia Haines and Jack Kelly won with 134,921 votes and 135,096 votes, respectively. They defeated Democratic challengers Catherine Paura and Roxanne Barnes, who garnered 56,640 votes and 56,187 votes, respectively.

Ocean County Sheriff Michael Mastronardy also cruised to an easy victory, securing 71 percent of the vote versus his opponent’s 28 percent. Mastronardy received 140,535 votes compared to challenger Salvatore Frascino’s 55,365 votes.

Get Brick News Updates Daily
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

Meanwhile, U.S. Rep. Christopher Smith (R-4) will return to office for a 19th term, having defeated Democratic challenger Matthew Jenkins. Though he no longer will represent Ocean County after the start of the new year, U.S. Rep. Andy Kim (D-3) will return to Congress for a fresh term after defeating GOP challenger Bob Healy.

Click to comment