Connect with us


Brick Appoints Council President, Planning/Zoning Board Members, Housing Commissioner

Brick Township, NJ Logo (Photo: Daniel Nee)

Brick Township, NJ Logo (Photo: Daniel Nee)

Brick Township’s governing body will be led by Councilwoman Heather deJong in 2023, who was elected council president by her colleagues on the dais at the first town meeting of 2023.

The council’s reorganizational meeting, held each January, also includes a litany of appointments and professional contracts being approved for the coming year. After deJong was elected council president, Councilwoman Andrea Zapcic was nominated, and subsequently elected, vice president. Under Brick’s system of government, the council president serves as chair during meetings, with the vice president filling-in in the case of an absence.

The council also approved several appointments to various boards, most prominently the Planning Board, Board of Adjustment (also known as the zoning board) and Housing Authority Board of Commissioners. Many of the appointments were re-appointments of members already serving.

Get Brick News Updates Daily
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

Appointed to the zoning board were Eileen Della Volle of North Lake Shore Drive, for a four year term; Glenn Fuchs of Point View Road, for a four year term; Henry Gajda of Jefferson Drive, for an unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2024; and Jennifer Luddy, of Robbins Street, for a two year term.

The planning board retained two of its current members, with Matthew Fagan and Joanne Lambusta both appointed to fresh terms.

Finally, a seat on the board of the Brick Township Housing Authority will be filled by Beth Oliver, of Tunes Brook Drive, who will serve a five year term as commissioner.

Click to comment